7th December 2021
  • 7th December 2021
  • Home
  • Campus News
  • Legacy of TNAU will Continue Beyond 100 years, says former DG, ICAR

Legacy of TNAU will Continue Beyond 100 years, says former DG, ICAR

By on 3rd July 2017 0 164 Views
Best Women Scientist Award - Dr. G. Thiribhuvanamala Dr. K. Ramasamy, Vice-Chancellor, TNAU Dr. S. Ayyappan, Former Director General, ICAR & NABARD Chair Professor
The 47th Foundation Day and Open and Distance Learning (ODL) Graduation Day of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU) were held at Convocation Hall on 1-7-2017.
Dr. P. Santhi, Director, Open and Distance Learning briefed about the features of B.F. (Technology) course, which is the first of its kind in India. The 3 year course, comprising of 6 semesters aims at transforming the farmers into job providers.  So far, 332 farmers and entrepreneurs have obtained their graduations through this programme.
Dr. K. Ramasamy, Vice-chancellor in his keynote address recollected the transformation of the University as No. 1 in India from a small farm school at Saidapet in 1863. He lauded the interest of the farming community to update themselves on agricultural technologies through and emphasized the need for better coordination among all agencies involved in marketing to bring about major transformation in agriculture and better profitability to farmers.
In his Foundation Day address, Dr. S. Ayyappan, Former Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research appreciated the TNAU’s achievements in setting an example to all other agricultural institutions of the country and noted that the legacy of the University will continue to exist even beyond 100 years. He emphasized that the combination of science, sense and skill for achieving transformation in agricultural research areas like nanotechnology, energy and rhizotron technologies. He complimented the ODL system for its uniqueness and for empowering the farmers. He mooted the idea of “double the yield and triple the income” through integrated strategies. He advised the students on PQR – Performance, Quality and Relevance.  He also interacted with the farmers graduates who acquired their B.F. Tech degrees today and noted that their knowledge should help the society and farm students.
On the occasion, Staff who have put up 25 years and drivers who have put up more than 10 years of unblemished service were honoured. The B.F.Tech degree was awarded to 60 farmers and entrepreneurs.
Best researcher, Teacher, Extension worker, Women Scientist, NSS Programme Officer, Best Research Station, Best Krishi Vigyan Kendra awards were also presented on the occasion. Two students, Raaghul of Eachankottai campus and T.Nandhini of Periyakulam campus received the best NSS volunteer awards.
Earlier, Dr.C.R. Anandakumar, the Registrar, TNAU welcomed the gathering. Dr. M. Maheswaran, Director of Research, TNAU proposed the formal Vote of thanks.